For validation of learning material and programmes for Continuing Professional Development (CPD),
please click here
For Registration Applications, please click here

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office of sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) announced the winner of its annual Regional Young Scientists’ award.

Ms Alice Wamundiya, a Rwandan national based at the University of the Witwatersrand is the recipient of this prestigious prize. She is awarded the 2016 TWAS-ROSSA Regional Young Scientists’ Prize for her contribution to the advancement of human rights issues in sub-Saharan Africa through research and direct community interventions under the theme: Protection and Promotion of Human Rights.

This prize is awarded in fulfilment of the TWAS objective of recognising, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. The protection and attainment of human rights is an important issue in society. Awareness creation of human rights through scientific research and practices brings commonality amongst the diverse cultures in Africa.

Wamundiya is the Chairperson of Unity for Tertiary Refugee Students (UTRS), a non-profit organisation in South Africa that she helped found and works with on a voluntary basis. She is also a member of the UTRS Lobbying and Advocacy Task Team (LATT). She holds a BA in Psychology, Language and Communication and an Honours degree in Development Studies from the University of the Western Cape where she has been on the Dean’s Merit list numerous times. She has a Masters Degree in Social Sciences from the University of Cape Town after being awarded the prestigious bursary from the Mandela Rhodes Foundation for African Scholars, and is currently pursuing a Masters Degree in Displacement and Migration at the University of Witwatersrand. She has been chosen as one of the 100 Brightest Young Minds in South Africa, one of 300 most influential global youth Partners of Oxfam International, and was voted on the Central Coordinating Committee (CCC) of the Mandela Rhodes Scholars for 2011. For her efforts, in 2012, she received the 2012 Inyathelo Award for Social Justice Philanthropy, presented by the South African Institute for Advancement, and in 2014 was chosen as a Clinton Global Youth Ambassador. In 2015, she was runner up for the 2015 Reconciliation Award from the Institute for Justice and Reconciliation.

TWAS-ROSSA is hosted by the Academy of Science of South Africa. TWAS-ROSSA is one of five regional offices of TWAS which is based in Trieste, Italy.

ASSAf provides secretariat support to the regional office, and coordinates efforts to promote the activities of TWAS and its affiliated organisations in sub-Saharan Africa.

Academy of Science of South Africa
Patricia Scholtz Communication Manager
Tel: +27 12 349 6618
Cell: +27 82 550 0757
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) is the official national academy of science and represents the country in the international community of science academies. The Academy aims to generate evidence-based solutions to national problems. The strategic priorities of the Academy are closely matched to those of the nation, focusing particularly on the need for the greatly enhanced availability of high-level human capital and an increased use of the country’s best intellectual expertise in providing science advice in support of policy development.

TWAS-ROSSA is a non-profit organisation that is open for collaboration. A donation is welcome to directly support the advancement of science, engineering and technology in sub-Saharan Africa. Visit our website: and follow us on twitter:

The process of reconstituting the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions has been completed. View the new Council.
If you are final year Natural Science student, you can enroll at SACNASP. View more information.