For validation of learning material and programmes for Continuing Professional Development (CPD),
please click here
For Registration Applications, please click here

2016 South African Women In Science Awards

Theme: Women’s Empowernment And Its Link To Sustainable Development

The Department of Science and Technology (DST) calls for nominations for the 2016 South African Women in Science Awards (WISA).  The awards recognise and reward excellence by women scientists and researchers, and profile them as role models for younger women.  The awards will be made to women who are South African citizens or permanent residents.

The theme for the 2016 WISA is Women’s empowerment and its link to sustainable development, which is the 2016 priority theme for the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW).

Awards in the distinguished women and distinguished young women researcher categories will be made for research that responds to the theme within the fields of Physical and Engineering Sciences, and Humanities and Social Sciences.  However, the DST Fellowships and TATA Scholarships are not restricted to the theme.

There is a special category within the theme which will award research and innovation (R&I) leading to demonstrable socio-economic impact and/or the empowerment of women.

The 2016 WISA will be presented on 11 August 2016 as part of the Department's celebration of Women's Month.

For more information, please download the Word document below.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations and applications on the attached form should reach the Department of Science and Technology by Friday, 3 June 2016.  No late nominations and applications will be accepted. Nominations and applications should be submitted electronically to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The process of reconstituting the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions has been completed. View the new Council.
If you are final year Natural Science student, you can enroll at SACNASP. View more information.